Books

On reading (Summer Writing)

I wrote this entry this summer after coming back home and trying somehow to get busy while waiting for Jobs application to make their ways through. I read it sometimes ago and thought it was not entirely bad so I decided to publish it now though it is probably not the best piece of writing one can read across the web.
Having a blog is somehow difficult because I have written much more drafts of entries then I have actually published.  I have a lot of them now and I wish to continue to write and publish some of them before they become totally irrelevant. Moreover, I thought I should pick up this blog and try writing more in order to get in the mood of one of my class that deals with women self-writing in Japan.

La Lecture, Esztergom

When I was younger, I often had a bad opinion of people who told me that they did not read a lot because they did not have the time to do so.  I remember how one of our French teacher asked us to make a debate on television  when we were around 14 years during which some people “attacked me” because I told that reading was a way of getting entertained. After entering a High School and more recently, a University abroad, I realised that I should not be so severe because I am not able to read as much books as I wished to annymore.Therefore, even though I’ve tried as much as I can to carry books around, I’ve finally figured out that the only places where I can start and finish a book easily is in the plane bringing me out and in Vancouver.

Marseille

The last two I read were L’africain by le Clézio and Cujo by Stephen King.The first one was given to me by my father at Christmas and the later, I had for a long time and I avoided reading it as much as I could for three main reasons:

1) First, I knew that the story would not make me very happy because the main protagonist was a dog that turn bad. I like dogs and I do not like reading about them being hurt or hurtful.

2) Secondly, I knew perfectly well the end because one of my friend told it to me when we were 15 and I told her I would not read it for the previous reason. You can spoil some people easily and not feeling bad about it because you know they will just forget the end two days later and be able to read/watch/play without a second thought. Some other people can’t help but remember everything you told them even though it was 5 years ago… For some reason, I remember spoils very well, though there are a lot of other things I forget very easily.

3) It is one of the only book of King that I have not read yet. It was a bit like keeping the strawberry that seats on top of the cheesecake for last.

Reading a Stephen King’s book in an airplane is not that uncommon I assume. However, it often makes your seatmates uncomfortable especially when they try reading over your shoulder and come across some uncanny and vulgar word writing in bold capital letters that stands out from the whole book, talking about adulterous women and weird details. At least after that, they stop reading over your shoulder.

I rather enjoyed reading this book even though it deals with a big killer dog that was really nice and playful before getting bitten by a bat and generated rabid. It also allowed me to think a lot while trying to fell asleep about how people generally generalized everything about books.

Look at Cujo, if you ask someone about what the book’s story, you’ll probably get the same information as the one written on the back cover, meaning a short sum-up telling you mainly about this dog, Cujo, turning into a killing machine. But when you read the book yourself, you can generate almost endless ways of telling the story of this book:

-It deals with a family trying to stay united despite a love affair involving one of the parents
-It tells you about a little boy whose closet is a bit strange and scary
-It explains how  a mad policemen became a local bogeyman
-You will learn about a woman who’s scared of her husband’s bad influence on her only son
-The fact that this woman cannot leave him no matter what and how she is trapped into her own destiny
– You’ll learn about the Cereal Professor and his famous quote
-It shows how mothers can be resourceful  when their child are in danger
-It explains briefly how people can deal with death and life difficulties

And this list could go on and on and on. But none of that will end up on the summary on the back of the book. Because it won’t appeal to the common reader who wants his share of horror and entertainment while waiting for his bus/plane/car.

Lutin

Playing:

Travel the World -Superbus

Basket– Dan Mangan

3 thoughts on “On reading (Summer Writing)

  1. So, no more toe painting? :+)
    I recently heard someone saying that she started to read a lot as a child because she was bored. And she went on reading and became a journalist, then a writer. She thinks that nowadays, young people are constantly busy with TV, cell phones, video, games, computers… No time to get bored, no time for thinking, no time left for reading (and thinking about what you just read). I saw a writing on a wall today, it was: “to be or to have, that is the question”. Although it was misspelled, I think this has something to do with this writer’s assumption. Do we have too much to do, and do we fail to be?

  2. Actually, my toe nails are purple right now…
    More seriously, I think people are still as bored as before (that’s why they spend so much time on facebook among other things).
    And when people study so much, they spend half of their time reading essays and books so when they want to have fun, they just do something else.

    1. And what about the fun, the magic of reading, the thrill of finding the answers or understanding the plots?
      Would it make sense to assume that most of the pupils in France in the 80′ weren’t taught properly and have dyslexia or reading difficulties, which make reading a painful task? (think of those persons who dislike watching sub-titled movies because it’s tiring and they have no time to decipher all the sentences…)
      BTW I am currently reading Jonathan Safran Foer’s “Everything is illuminated” and it is hilarious.

Leave a Reply

